Environment Path

apps

Hi everyone.

I have been installing ffmepg mencoder et al.

While in the command line I have to use:

export PATH=$HOME/bin:$PATH

In order for the server to pick up the correct path for where mencoder is installed. On logging out and logging back in again I must set the path once more.

Could someone please advise how I set the PATH permanently? My php scripts are calling the same command but NEVER returning any output - which makes me beileve that the app is not being executed as its not present in teh path.

Thanks in advance…

Look at ‘man bash’, section on “Invocation”. Login shell, .bashrc, .bash_profile…

–rekraplr (for Maximum discount, $97 on yearly plans)
101010 For the Win! (110 off!)

thanks for teh quick reply…

Sorry but I failed to point out that I am very much a noob in this area.

Could you please give a little more detail? Like to I have t o edit one of these config files or something??

Sorry but I am a developer - we sometimes lack the capacity to deal with the stuff that actually runs the stuff we do! (the irony)

Would any be so kind as to provide an example on how to edit the .bash_profile so that I can permanantly prepend directories to the $PATH.

Cheers peeps…

[quote]Would any be so kind as to provide an example on how to edit the .bash_profile so that I can permanantly prepend directories to the $PATH.

Cheers peeps…[/quote]
Ok, maybe these steps will help :

1. Make sure you have a user account which SSH enabled. You can check it via panel. Make sure your user type is “shell”.
  2. Login to your server via ssh. Under windows you can use putty. Download it and run it. Specify your host and use ssh method.
  3. Enter your user and password after login screen.
  4. Edit .bash_profile by typing “nano .bash_profile”
  5. After editing the file. Press CTRL-O (write out) or CTRL-X (write-exit). Giving answer to some prompting message.
  6. Done

Hope it helps :slight_smile:

Supernova