Email Wildcard Addressing

I’ve been using a catch-all address for many, many years at one of my hosted domains here. Unfortunately, like many people, I’m getting spammers galore sending messages as well as getting bounced messages from forged headers from the same spammers. It’s really getting out of hand.

I read some time ago about the wildcard addressing that lets you create email addresses such as joe+amazon@doe.com or joe+google@doe.com that would automagically forward to joe@doe.com and I tried to actively switch to that approach for new addresses. However, I’m finding any number of email validation scripts on websites that freak out with the use of the plus sign (+) and either won’t let me register or I can’t login to the site after registering.

Is there any other option for creating dynamic email addresses for your domain without having to use the plus sign or a catch-all address? Maybe even a ‘.’ or a ‘-’ or just about any other normal character would work …

I’m sure I can’t be the only one with this issue …

Thanks in advance,
Matt

I found two useful sources of info on using dots in e-mail address with gmail (if you have a different provider, you may have to check how they handle e-mail with dots):

http://knol.google.com/k/lanny-m/getting-someone-elses-mail-the-dots/arh964fu2mnl/7#

http://knol.google.com/k/gnutt-halvordsson/getting-someone-elses-mail/tmc0tx1gq52i/6#

reb :)___

Thanks for the reply, but I’m referring to options on Dreamhost around wildcard addressing.

This page on the Wiki talks about the + sign option, but curious about other options: http://wiki.dreamhost.com/E-mail_addresses

The plus sign is in the RFC, and places that don’t allow the plus are violating the RFC. Trying to substitute something else in would likely violate the RFC. In other words, it’s not DreamHost’s fault. Those places should accept a plus sign. Expecting DH to kludge their systems to accommodate for someone else’s mistake is a tall order.