Email help

I don’t know if I set something up wrong or what… but when I send an email to an address, it bounces back with "unknown user: "m5372980"
If I set the address up to ‘also forward’, it’ll do that. And the box does exist, I can log into webmail.
I just moved over here, so I’m new to this panel - go easy :smiley:

it’s not just you, I’m having the same problem with the spunky mail server. Here is more info for anyone else looking.

This is the Postfix program at host spunkymail-mx1.dreamhost.com.

I’m sorry to have to inform you that your message could not be be delivered to one or more recipients. It’s attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can delete your own text from the attached returned message.

The Postfix program

m8013141@spunkymail-mx1.dreamhost.com (expanded from
bodyshop@breedendodge.com): unknown user: “m8013141”
— Attached:Delivery report.txt —
Reporting-MTA: dns; spunkymail-mx1.dreamhost.com
X-Postfix-Queue-ID: 5FDF6FA5EB
X-Postfix-Sender: rfc822; granville@kirkhamsystems.com
Arrival-Date: Thu, 3 Aug 2006 13:16:09 -0700 (PDT)

Final-Recipient: rfc822; m8013141@spunkymail-mx1.dreamhost.com
Original-Recipient: rfc822; bodyshop@breedendodge.com
Action: failed
Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; unknown user: “m8013141”
— end attachment —

Sometimes it’s not about thinking outside the box, sometimes it’s about making things in the box fit and work better with newer technologies.

Not a good way to make a first impression with someone who still has their old hosting service active :wink:

uhmm why would I care, I don’t work for dreamhost. I’m a customer just like you. I’m not even certain if any DH employee trolls these forums for problems to be solved. I think this dicussion forum is all customers.

Gran