Email alerts

I’m just wondering (this might sound like a stupid question), if you can send a daily alert to another (external) email address if the mailbox has mail?

Also, if you create a discussion list, is it possible to make it read only. For example, people can choose to subscribe to a list, but only the moderator can send messages. In other words, to make it a bit like a news service?

Sorry, I’m just new to all this…

If we can send a man to the moon, why can’t we send them all there?

Certainly possible with crontab and script to check POP3.

Well, DreamHost has an announcement list feature but you can only send messages from the web panel. The discussion list software however would let you set it up so that no one can post but those on a special list.

:cool: Perl / MySQL / HTML+CSS

“Certainly possible with crontab and script to check POP3.”

If I knew what this meant I probably wouldn’t have been asking the question on a beginners forum :slight_smile:

I don’t think DreamHost has anything already setup to help do what you ask easily.

My idea however involves using your shell access to use a utility called crontab to run a program automatically once a day. Now the program would have to check your mailbox, get a message list, and then send an e-mail. DreamHost already has programs that can send an e-mail (mutt, as well as postfix) but it I don’t know of one that can retrieve a list of messages much less do both, so at the moment it appears you’ll need to install something yourself.

I’m working on a short Perl script you could use to do this.

You’d just want to check for the presence of stuff in ~/Maildir/new/; something like this might work:

grep -h "^From: " $HOME/Maildir/new/* || echo "No new mail" | mutt -s "Mail notification"