E-mail Procmail

Is there a way that I can copy the procmail filters from one user and apply them to a another user? or even apply the same filter for all domain e-mail addresses?

Thanks.

If it’s a real (FTP/Shell) user, then it’s just the .forward.postfix and .procmailrc files you need to copy over, plus any other mail tools you’re using for filtering.

It may be possible to share a single filter file via a symbolic link, or even a cronjob that copies a single source on a regular basis.

-Scott

It is a user that I defined in the “mail” tab, so I don’t think that they have an FTP/Shell account.

I have tried to “find” their procmail file and I can not seem to locate it (I am an admin in the dreamhost control panel). So if the symbolic link thing would work, how would I go about doing that?

David

You need to create an FTP/Shell user to be able to use Procmail.

-Scott

OK, maybe I misunderstood.

I am using the “keyword filter” section of the menu to manage someone that has webmail access to e-mail on my domain.

Right now I am managin a single mail user in this manner (using about 16 filters). I will soon need to manage about 80 users in this way. Is there a simple way to copy/link to these filters?

If not, do I understand that I might be able to implement these capabilities if I give these users shell access?

Thanks for your help.

David

No easy way to copy another user’s mail settings. And you can’t “convert” a mail-only user into a shell user. You’d have first delete that mail address (user) and then create a shell user with that email address.

Maybe someone super-creative can come up with a workaround, but nothing comes to mind.

-Scott

Hmm, DH setup is OK for a few users but I don’t really think I’d like to handle filters for 80 users their way!