E-Mail Mirroring

Well, I have been waiting 5 hours for a reply and stumbled upon the forum so I figured I would sign-up here and see if I could get an answer to my question…

I am new to DreamHost (just signed up today) and have three domains that should all be resolving to the same webspace and have e-mail sent to the same mailboxes.

To make the example easier to follow I’ll post the three domains :

amninc.com (main domain) & amninc.net / amethystnetworks.com which should mirror for web and e-mail to amninc.com.

Currently we’re currently using Sendmail as our MTA, making use of the virtuser function.

In our virtuser table, which is a DBM file, we have entries like this:

@amninc.net %1@amninc.com
@amethystnetworks.com %1@amninc.com

What this does is take any message that comes to foo@amninc.net and foo@amethystnetworks.com and sends it to foo@amninc.com.

DreamHost Sales told me I could create a catch-all for amninc.net and amethystnetworks.com to forward to %1@amninc.com but I have yet to figure out how to do this in the Panel. (Let me clarify, I figured out where I THOUGHT I should be doing it but I get this error :

"Errors:

Invalid address ‘%1@amninc.com’: alias must begin with a letter, number, or the + sign
You must specify a destination address.

Please try again"

as you see…)

Is anyone else doing this sort of e-mail mirroring? If so I wonder if I need to be attempting to add this elsewhere or using a different variable in my forward entry aside from the %1.

Thanks ~

Hugh William Collier-Byrd

Amethyst Networks
Websites, Networking, Design, & More!
http://amninc.net/

Our system doesn’t have a way to do this currently (I thought that there was a “mirror” function, but apparently, there isn’t). I do remember being asked about this by one of our support people.