Dreamweaver & Wordpress

Hello, this is my first post, I’m new to web publishing. Thankyou for bearing with :slight_smile:

I’ve arranged my domain and hosting with DreamHost.

My content is yet to come, and at this stage I’m experimenting playfully with Wordpress. I’m delighted by how easy it was to install and how pleasant it is to use.

Still, as a former graphic designer for print updating my skills, I’d like to learn Dreamweaver because of its integration with Creative Suite.

Could anyone tell me - if I learn how to create and upload a Dreamweaver site, can I incorporate a Wordpress blog into the Dreamweaver site? Do web designers do that? Is it a common practice?

Many thanks for your advice :slight_smile:
Frances

well you could have your site created with dreamweaver at mysite.com and have your wordpress install somewhere like mysite.com/blog and just edit the theme to match the rest of your site as closely as possible. usually though people who plan on using a content management system tend to use it to power their entire site as you can easily make sections with clean urls. wordpress can be a pretty versatile application (though not as much so as something like drupal but that’s just my personal opinion I suppose).

if you want your content ‘out there’ as quickly as possible go with wordpress (or drupal!) and just play around with dreamweaver and stick it in a subdir or sub-domain if all you are doing is giving yourself experience with it.

Hi Ryo-ohki, many thanks for your support :slight_smile:

I’m glad to know I can edit a themed Wordpress page and install it 'my(dreamweaver)site.com/blog as an option.

Please bear with me, I am not quite sure what the definition of a content management system is. Does it include the storage of captured email addresses, autoresponder activity, data capture, this sort of thing? Is this is people call ‘back end’ stuff?