Dreamhost vs. others for a tech support client

wordpress

Hello. I am Gary. This is my 1st post, here. Thank you in advance.
Situation:
A valued client wishes to go live with a website. He’s a pawn shop. I have been tasked to detail options for him. He’s not very tech savvy. I crack passwords on pawned gear and chase the boogies out of his systems.
He wants, what sounds to me, to be a content management system that he can load jpgs himself. Maybe link his Paypal or Square.
Me? I have a degree in Graphics Design. I learned HTML and CSS, not PHP and SQL. I’ve played with Concrete 5 on my server and am attempting to learn to do a basic database from scratch (training purposes - not insane).
He can’t afford both DP and me.
Q: Anyone think he can manage DreamPress alone if he can’t set up a homegroup?
Q: Should I steer him to FaceBook or Microsoft for his website needs?
I don’t want to lose his tech business or become a permanent site sitter and a bane to his budget. I wouldn’t mind the commission, though.
How do we steer noobs? Can DreamPress coddle the inhibited, uninitiated customer?
thx,
gdp

All depends on what this website needs to do and what kind of traffic it will get. WordPress is fairly easy to use but YMMV, as they say. The hard bit is where you say

Does he want a website to show and sell pawned items? If it’s only for showing the items he has in store, then you can get him started quickly with a basic WordPress on shared hosting and see where that goes.
If he wants to also sell those items, you have very inexpensive options like setting up an eBay or Amazon store. Your client can snap pictures, upload them on his site and on ebay, add a link to each other.

This way, you can help him keep the fixed costs very low and you keep a good chunk of the customer’s IT budget. Over time, if this online business takes off, he may be able to afford you to develop a full online retail business for him.