DreamHost User's Guide

Hi there,

I’m a ridiculously ignorant newbie, who has been trying to set up a blog in DreamHost. So far, I’m being completely baffled by it. I’ve been perusing the information on DreamHost Menu, Support, Forum, Wiki, you name it. And there are lots of information, the problem is you have to navigate incessantly through the links and pages, and because you haven’t learn/read a previous piece of information, you are constantly travelling from one link to another, like in a time loop. Does anybody know of a structured (i.e. progressively moving from the basics up to more advanced topics) manual/guide to navigate and use DreamHost? It could be something published within or outside DreamHost itself!

Thanks!

Other than the Getting Started section of the wiki:
http://wiki.dreamhost.com/Building_A_Website

People’s needs vary greatly, so there’s no “one size fits all” recipe. A one-click Easy Install of WordPress requires no extra steps to get a presence on the Internet.

Thanks Scott, I have been learning the basics of WordPress using a Wampserver 2.0 to “mock” my blog and see how WordPress features work. I’ve now decided to install WordPress in DreamHost using Advanced Install, so that I can use the theme I used in my “mock” blog. I hope I’d be able to install it successfully and start using DreamHost feature more effectively. That’s where the guide I mention comes into play. I agree with you, people’s need vary greatly, but a general, well structured, in one place guide could come in handy!

Thanks Gart for the bit about the Wampserver 2.0. I needed that piece of the puzzle since I’m windows at home. Do you plan to use the Wampserver to mock all your pages and then ftp up or is there some other way to do it in dreamhosting?

Hi Zwizurp,