Dreamhost + Rails3 + Passenger = STRESS

apps

I have been trying unsuccessfully for what seems like two weeks to deploy a simple Rails3 app to my Dreamhost shared server using Passenger.

I will admit that I am very new to Rails 3 and Passenger, but I feel like I have a pretty good grip on Unix / shell / development in general so I can handle some technical input.

This is where I stand:

I have created a very simple mysql rails 3 app:

rails new test_app -d mysql cd test_app rails g scaffold articles title:string body:text

Next, I modified config/database.yml to something like this:

[code]# MySQL. Versions 4.1 and 5.0 are recommended.

Install the MySQL driver:

gem install mysql2

And be sure to use new-style password hashing:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/old-client.html

development:
adapter: mysql2
encoding: utf8
reconnect: false
host: hostname
database: db_dev
pool: 5
username: user
password: pass
socket: /tmp/mysql.sock

Warning: The database defined as “test” will be erased and

re-generated from your development database when you run “rake”.

Do not set this db to the same as development or production.

test:
database: db_test
socket: /tmp/mysql.sock

production:
database: db_prod
socket: /tmp/mysql.sock[/code]

I loaded the app into a Passenger-enabled subdomain and ran:

(I realize DH’s wiki claims that this process will be killed, but for whatever reason it isn’t and all gems are installed into my ~/.gems/ directory successfully)

At this Passenger appears to run fine and I can see the standard “Welcome aboard” index. The problem is if I attempt to browse to my “/articles” page I receive a 500 (Internal Service Error).