DreamCompute newbie - a few questions

dreamcompute

I’m new to DreamCompute / Openstack and have some questions (but I’m very familiar with web engineering and unix, fwiw):

1.) What is a good recommended setup for a robust web server environment? Specifically any advice on network topology / load balancing / any benefit to using private networks for anything “internal” such as mysql? Also, any benefits of a certain OS over another (CoreOS, Ubuntu, CentOS, etc)?

2.) Would it be easy enough to essentially duplicate DreamPress2 within DreamCompute (Wordpress, MySQL, PHP7, Varnish, memcached, separate instances for MySQL, etc)? Basically, I plan on moving my WP site over to DC and really like what DreamPress2 has to offer, but I’m curious if it easily duplicated within DC?

3.) What is a good way of setting up a “development environment” version of my production Wordpress setup within DC? I was thinking I might have to clone the instances? Anyone out there done anything like this (ideally with Wordpress)?

4.) Where is there a list of packages available (like Varnish, memcached, etc)?

5.) What is the SFTP server used in Dreamhost shared hosting and can I use it in my DC instances? Any easy / relatively-automated way of setting up a solid SFTP server? (I’ve already set up the security groups, port 22)

6.) What are the performance benefits / drawbacks of having Apache in one instance and mysql in another versus having both in the same one?

7.) Can anyone explain to me if any of these instances are “elastic” in any way? Do they / can they scale with traffic and heavy load? Is it automatic or does it have to be done manually? Can it be done at all? If not, what is the best recommended way of handling load balancing within DC?

8.) Can you dynamically increase the size of the instance without it interrupting the server(s)?