Dreamback - really simple backup for your dreamhost accounts

software development

Hey guys,

Just wanted to let you know about a small project I’ve been working on to automate backup of my Dreamhost users using the backup account that Dreamhost provides.

To give it a try, go here:
http://palexander.github.com/dreamback/

EDIT This tool is designed to backup normal Dreamhost user files to the Dreamhost provided Personal Backup space.

I’d love questions, feedback, bug reports, and anything else you want to tell me (here or @palexander). I’ve been running this for about two months backing up 22GB of data across seven separate users and its working pretty well.

Key Features

• easy to install and setup
  • runs without you thinking about it
  • uses hard links to reduce storage space
  • doesn’t store passwords (uses ssh keys)

Possible Future Features

• SQL database backups
  • External storage (S3/Glacier/other)
  • Cool things people ask for :slight_smile:

What Dreamback doesn’t/won’t do
This isn’t meant to be a custom tool with a ton of options. If people really want something in that direction, I’ll think about exposing some of the configuration options that are under the hood.

Feel free to fork on github and do pull requests if it suits you!

Note on security
I’ve tried to think about security while doing this. Having a single account with ssh key access to all of your other Dreamhost accounts may not be ideal. I would suggest creating a separate account to act as your “backup” account and set an “impossible-to-hack” password on it.

Sounds nice, but should you not contact DreamHost about this, so they can run tests and if it works properly they could add it to the (one-install) goodies.