Domain transfers -- registration vs. hosting

Hi and Happy New Year’s Eve!
I am a trial DH member – hoping it works out to host one or more sites here. The below might be etter for a DH support person, but I thought I’d try the forum first.

OVERVIEW:
My questions relate to domains I already own. I bought about a dozen (over the years) on GoDaddy, but most aren’t even parked anywhere - I may not do anything with them for a couple years. Only 3 are hosted elsewhere (2 on Weebly and 1 at Wix). . . but even the 3 “live” sites are like 1-2 pages, so I don’t mind ditching the actual content and starting over.

My questions:
a) I’m a newbie, and confused about semantics – are the main factors where my domain’s “registered” and “hosted,” or are there others?
b) Can DH host my sites and GoDaddy continue to be the registrar? What are any downsides (other than giving money to GoDaddy, which is a factor to a degree)?
c) If DH just hosts, where do I switch that? Is there an FAQ to walk me through this? The wiki’s confusing – I see options for “fully hosted” (which makes me think there are other options, and Google Hosted . . . and I love all the options, but it’s confusing.
d) If I do one or more registration transfers to DH, does each cost $9.99 (one time or annually)? I have like a dozen URLs and wouldn’t do that until I was sure I’d use DH for hosting. . . and $10 is a lot for the domains I’m not focused on right now.

Thank you so much!

Luke