Domain elsewhere, but want Dreamhost

Hi all, I have some website experience having built pages with Front Page for years (and only using free hosts however), then took a break from building and in that time PHP powered web portals became the rage and I was left in the dust!

Anyway, I wanted to create a site with drupal, and I had purchased webspace with Go Daddy almost a year ago. I found out the hard way, that Go Daddy disables certain features in Drupal for security reasons.

With that, a friend of mine told me about Dream Host, I checked it out and really like what I’m seeing. Flexible hosting, worker run (my favorite feature) lol.

Anyway, my domain names are still trapped with Go Daddy, one was registered for 2 years, the other I only registered less than 30 days ago so I can’t transfer.

My question, as a novice to this, is it easy to switch my host to Dreamhost and for now keep my domain names at Go Daddy until I can switch them in the future? I’m hoping this is something I can easily do, by just redirecting the domain to dreamhost or something, but I’m not sure as I’ve never done it! This is the only thing stopping me from signing up here today, so if I can get some info I’d appreciate it :slight_smile:

Hi and welcome to the forums :slight_smile:

Yes, this is very easy to achieve.

You just need to use whatever configuration utility that Go Daddy provides for your domains to configure the DNS servers to ns1.dreamhost.com, ns2.dreamhost.com and ns3.dreamhost.com.

This way, you can keep your domains registered at Go Daddy, but host the sites here at DreamHost. Later, if you wish, you can transfer the domains to DreamHost using the web admin panel.

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost hosting using promo code [color=#CC0000]SAVEMONEY[/color] ( Click for promo code details )

Yes you can have a domain somewhere, and hosting elsewhere.

You don’t have to have your domain on dreamhost (i don’t).