DNS update time?

I registered with domainmonger and am transfering over here, Domainmonger says 24-48 hour wait for names list updates, its been about 72 i was wondering does the weekend effect these times or are those tasks typically automated?

if you wish to talk Jeeps [b]I Understand[/b]

They should be completely automated (they are from our end, and should be with most registrars).

I’d definitely recommend contacting tech support … 3 days wasn’t unheard of a few years ago, but any more even 2 days should be fairly uncommon.

• Jeff @ DreamHost
  • DH Discussion Forum Admin

Well TY Jeff, since your a admin on the inside can you tell if I dropped the ball somewhere with you guys? I do not want to point fingers at them until I have good confidence I have done my part, and I am a newbie to the whole domain registration and hosting concept.

TIA

EDIT: My domain is jeepwrangler.info and I registered for hosting with you guys on 12/5/01.

if you wish to talk Jeeps [b]I Understand[/b]

It’s all automatic.

A domain name server asks the root COM dns server where to find information on yourdomain.com, then goes to the dns server for yourdomain.com to figure out the IP or MX for your domain and subdomains.

Both of those servers have “time to live” settings. The user’s DNS box probably will cache the data, and use the cached version for the time specified.

Nothing says the user’s DNS has to cache at all. Nothing says that the user’s DNS cannot decide to wait 30 days, even if the TTL was specified as 48 hours.