DNS settings - site @ DH and email @ GoDaddy?

Hi all,

I have a client who is in love with GoDaddy. I hate GoDaddy (GD) for a variety of reasons, plus I love Dreamhost. Anyway, client wants to host site on GD, and I’ve been trying to set the site up for a week with not so stellar results. Client has several email addys with GD. I’d like to move site hosting to Dreamhost, but leave email at GD.

My question: If I set the specific DNS records at GD (NS? A? CNAME? not sure which) with Dreamhost’s DNS settings, would the client domain name resolve to Dreamhosts servers, but leave the email at GD?

Sorry if this is a stupid question-- I obviously don’t know too much about DNS.

Thanks in advance for any info!!

Colin

Colin Pritchard
Rocket No. 9

I am not very good at this. Probably you can wait for other replies.

You can have your website and email hosted in different places. To do that, you will need to modify your DNS (for website) and MX (for email) records.

For your case, DNS record should point to Dreamhost and MX record should point to Godaddy.

$50 off and 3 free domains with code: [color=#CC0000]DH3[/color] Sign Up NOW or More Codes Here

Thanks for your help. I appreciate you taking the time to reply. I got it figured out-- I set up the hosting at DH and then got the IP address of the site on DH’s servers. I then entered that into the A record at GoDaddy. Of course, if DH changes the IP address of the site, then I’m screwed.

Colin Pritchard
Rocket No. 9

You should modify your DNS at Godaddy and point it to

ns1.dreamhost.com
ns2.dreamhost.com

Then, you should add the new domain to your hosting plan which I believe you have done so.

You will need to give some time for DNS propagation. Changing DNS record is better than changing A record.

$50 off and 3 free domains with code: [color=#CC0000]DH3[/color] Sign Up NOW or More Codes Here

Sorry for jumping in, I need to do it the reverse way : mail @ DH and web @ Another…