DNS CNAME Config

I just transfered a domain name, say myweb.com, to dreamhost.
myweb.com is hosted on another webhost hence it’s DNS nameserver is ns1.webhost.com.
I wanted to setup a CNAME record to point to yet another server sub.myweb.com.

I can’t see the admin panel option to set that. Must the DNS nameserver be those of dreamhost (ns1.dreamhost.com)?

Let’s just say I can’t get hold of my webhost, what alternatives do I have?

Sorry if the above is abit confusing. Cos I’m a complete newbie on this :oops:

[quote]myweb.com is hosted on another webhost hence it’s DNS nameserver is ns1.webhost.com.
I wanted to setup a CNAME record to point to yet another server sub.myweb.com.[/quote]
If you have the name servers set to nsX.webhost.com, then you must add the CName record using whatever DNS configuration tools that webhost.com provides.

One option would be to host the parent domain here at DreamHost and use the DreamHost name servers, you could then add the CName here.

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost plans using [color=#CC0000]PRICESLASH[/color] promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)

You mean to just change the nameserver to ns1/ns2.dreamhost.com? Or to make dreamhost the new webhost for myweb.com?

The option I was referring to was to use the DreamHost name servers (ns1.dreamhost.com etc.) and host the site here at DreamHost. In my opinion, this would be the simplest solution overall.

Although, if your other DNS host provides the ability to add the CNAME you require, you could just do that.

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost plans using [color=#CC0000]PRICESLASH[/color] promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)

Just to confirm that the name server is the one storing the CNAME data?

Yes, you create the CNAME record at the name servers that are handling DNS for the domain.

Mark

Looks like I need to chat up my webhost then.

Thanks Mark, really appreciate your kind help =D