DNS at Zoneedit

I am a newbie at Dreamhost and I manage my DNS with Zoneedit.

But what should I set up in Zoneedit?

I set up 3 NS records: ns1.dreamhost.com ns2… and so on.

Do I have to do anything more (A or MX-record)?

Thanks

I am a little confused as to exactly what you are trying to achieve.

Normally, if you wish to use the DreamHost name servers (ns1.dreamhost.com etc.), you would configure them at your domain registrar and in such a situation you would have no need for ZoneEdit’s DNS services.

ZoneEdit is sometimes recommended here on the forum for those that register a domain here at DreamHost, but do not have a hosting plan under their account. This is because DreamHost do not supply a DNS service for domain only accounts. In this situation, you would use the DreamHost panel to set the name servers for the domain to point at the ZoneEdit name servers, then create the main A-Record (and perhaps a www A-Record) at ZoneEdit to point at the server where your site is hosted.

Basically, we need more information about your particular situation in order to provide any meaningful help.

Is your domain registered here at DreamHost?
Do you have a hosting plan here at DreamHost?
Is there any particular reason why you wish to use the ZoneEdit name servers?

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost plans using [color=#CC0000]PRICESLASH[/color] promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)

[/quote]

No, not here. I set the DNS of the domain to zoneedit beceause if I want to change the DNS I have to pay…

[/quote]

Yes, I have.

[/quote]

If I change my hosting, then I don’t need to pay my domain registrar to change the DNS.

You say that I have to create an A-Record at ZoneEdit?

I just putting the ns1.dreamhost.comns3.dreamhost.com to the NS records not enough??

Thank you for your replay.

[/quote]

excuse me, but whose your registar? I ask this because I dont know of any that charges for doing a DNS change, since you can do that yourself.