Discussion Lists - argh!

Is it just me (I’m new to Mailman I admit), or are the discussion lists way more complicated than they need to be?

I just wanted to set up one list - ‘yumcha@mydomain.com’

For a start it has to create a subdomain - lists.mydomain.com. Secondly rather than just getting a new email address yumcha@mydomain.com, I now have:

owner-yumcha owner-yumcha@lists.mydomain.com
owner-yumcha-mydomain.com owner-yumcha@lists.mydomain.com
yumcha yumcha@lists.mydomain.com
yumcha-admin yumcha-admin@lists.mydomain.com
yumcha-mydomain.com yumcha-admin@lists.mydomain.com
yumcha-mydomain.com-admin yumcha-admin@lists.mydomain.com
yumcha-mydomain.com-owner yumcha-owner@lists.mydomain.com
yumcha-mydomain.com-request yumcha-request@lists.mydomain.com
yumcha-owner yumchar-owner@lists.mydomain.com
yumcha-request yumcha-request@lists.mydomain.com

WTF? I know some of these are “friendly” aliases so that you don’t need the “lists.” part in the domain, but aren’t some of these a little redundant? Eg what is the difference between owner-yumcha, and yumcha-owner?

What a mess. I hate do think what your addresses page looks like once you get several lists configured. Can I delete any of these?

Zilch

Also, all the documentation says:

[i]There were problems with the email commands you sent to Mailman via
the administrative address
yumcha-mydomain.com-request@lists.mydomain.com.

To obtain instructions on valid Mailman email commands, send email to
yumcha-mydomain.com-request@lists.mydomain.com with the word
"help" in the subject line or in the body of the message.

If you want to reach the human being that manages this mailing list,
please send your message to
yumcha-mydomain.com-admin@lists.mydomain.com.[/i]

But I don’t want the “mydomain.com” part before the @ sign. Even if it is aliased out, I don’t want it to be any more confusing to my users that it is already (and let me tell ya, I’m getting a bit muddled myself!)

Zilch

I’ll ‘second’ the intimidation factor.