Discussion List

I’m new to the world of webhosting, and have noticed that Dreamhost does NOT currently offer discussion list options. I’ve also noticed that there’s no stated date when they will be offered… but I need a list now! So…

Why is there a discussion list tab in the control panel? I get the impression that adding a list can be done through another host somehow like Yahoo or whatever, but could find no information on how to do it in the help files. Can it be done, and if so, who would Dreamhost recommend (until they get thier own discussion list software going)?

%J%a r a n t h

we do offer discussion lists, although they’re a relatively new feature. why do you say that we don’t offer them?

in any event, if you’re having any trouble adding a list, let support know and they’ll help get you setup.

the discussion lists use GNU Mailman, which is a python based mailing list manager. it is a very effective and scalable service, and we’re happy that we’re finally offering it to customers again (we used to offer it a long time ago).

i hope that answers your questions.

Hmm!!! I suppose it was the statement I saw in the KBase… see: https://kbase.newdream.net/index.cgi?area=861&keyword=discussion list …plus the fact that it didn’t seem to work when I tried it… my fault, I am sure.

I admit I’m a bit lost on how to add this feature to my site, and finding help on the subject seems a tad difficult. I’ll keep reading up on it and post here again if I can’t figure it out.

By the way, thanks for your unbelievebly quick replies!!!

[quote]Hmm!!! I suppose it was the statement I saw in the KBase.

You have a good point :> I will try to make sure that someone updates the documentation. The discussion list feature is new, but it should definitely work (pretty well in fact… i’ve used mailman for lists both at newdream hq and for personal stuff, and it’s really easy to use once / configure from a user perspective).