DirectoryIndex not allowed here (localhost)

software development

I figured it was time to stop tinkering with my sites “live, without a net” and set up a local development environment. I successfully installed phpdev so I now have Apache, php, mysql, phpMyAdmin running on my XP home box. I downloaded ActiveState Perl and got it running. I was shocked and amazed to see my cgi scripts running locally. (I’m a newbie and easily amused :slight_smile:

I’m stumped though on one script that, on DH, I use an .htaccess file to set the DirectoryIndex to ‘scriptname.cgi?some_parameter=setting’. It’s a calendar script and it automatically pulls the month’s events, rather than the default day’s display. Works a treat on DH but the Apache error log shows:

c:/phpdev/www/domain.name/calendar/.htaccess: DirectoryIndex not allowed here

Not sure where to look or what file to edit to replicate what seems to work on DH.

Thoughts, tips, pointers welcome. Speak slowly and use small words :slight_smile:

Have you set this in the http.conf file?

AllowOverride directive

It’s set in sections of the server config file (http.conf) to prohibit certain directives from being used in .htaccess files.

Cool, thanks! Progress…

Can’t locate DBI.pm in @INC (@INC contains: C:/Perl/lib C:/Perl/site/lib .) at c:\phpdev\www\ACTCA~1.US\calendar\vertical.pl line 48.
BEGIN failed–compilation aborted at c:\phpdev\www\ACTCA~1.US\calendar\vertical.pl line 48.

This is actually progress. I don’t know what it means but will spend some time figuring it out. It’s a much more interesting failure than ‘not allowed’ :slight_smile: Also, I’m thinking it has to do with incomplete setting up of MySql dbs.

Thank you for pointing me to the httpd.conf section.