Directories/FTPs/Paths

Hi
I’m a medium skilled designer and administrator. I generally work with one host and use Dreamweaver for FTP for all my other clients. My client site here went down last week - it seems the host servers were having some trouble around the same time. Since being ‘here’ the number of passwords for the assorted pages is wild. Last week - sometimes ‘ovaltine’ would default and sometimes the URL as host, for FTP (which I believe is correct), would show. Currently-I believe a directory is missing on the host side-I’ve tried to just create a folder called “Home” - but nothing is showing up online.

Is there a local path I should have that makes DHost happy? I have tried quite a few things.

I’m just not able to zero in on the issue here - directory? path? FTP client, etc.

The irony is it was a three letter text edit for probably the smallest site here, on a redesign I’ll be starting in on.

Thanks for your time.

I’ll admit I’m a little confused about the nature of the problem you are having, but sometimes I am a little slow. Are you no longer able to point DreamWeaver to the proper directory for the site under development?

I assume that you are talking about the “ftp server name” here. Once the “problem” DH was having was resolved, you should be using your “hostname” here (yourdomain.tld).

By Default, DreamHost sets up your domains with the following directory structure:

/home/username/domain.tld
/home/username/domain2.tld
/home/otherusername/domain.tld
/home/otherusername/domain2.tld
…and so on.

You cannot write to the “home” directory (you do not own it or have permission).

While I rarely use DreamWeaver, when I do, I simply set up the FTP server as my hostname, use the appropriate shell/ftp user’s credentials, for the user and password, and the “domian.tld” for the directory, and all works fine.

Does any of that help at all?

–rlparker