DH VPS Huge Disappointment

vps

Now I’m not usually the guy who enjoys rants but this is unbelievable!
I had my domain on Shared Hosting and after it got a few more visits than usual, DH forced me to move to VPS because the cost was only a $4 difference. On shared it’s 10.95/month (monthly payment, instead of yearly payment). And cheapest VPS (300MB RAM) is $15/month (so $4 difference).

I know DH doesn’t reveal the RAM on Shared Hosting but I have some experience with this and I can say for a fact that my RAM on Shared was 90MB (I don’t know how much Burst RAM was available though) and the site worked quite fine.

Now with 300MB RAM on VPS, it’s works like a drunk snail. Loads slow, I receive tons of emails with “VPS restarted, please increase memory, etc”…
Shortly said, the site is experiencing frequent downtimes.

So you guys are telling me that a shared hosting could handle it quite fine with a tiny 90MB RAM while a VPS with 300MB RAM can’t??? OMG!

I said ok… I will increase the memory even though that will obviously increase the costs also, increased it to 350MB, 400MB, even went as far as 500MB, still the same behavior! All I can say is that this is BS!

Ohhh and should I even mention that this isn’t even a FULL VPS???
Your database will still remain on shared hosting!!! If you want your database on VPS also you have to pay ANOTHER $15/month (if you choose 300MB)!!!

WHAT IS THIS??? A RIP OFF?? This is the worst VPS I’ve ever seen anywhere! Extremely expensive and inefficient.

In conclusion: DH VPS Huge Disappointment

My Advice to DH:

I found VPSes with as much as 2GB RAM guaranteed + another 2GB Burst/vSwap RAM (total 4GB RAM available), 4 shared CPU cores, 2TB monthly bandwidth, cPanel included, at only $25-30/month!

Now a FULL DH VPS (both FTP files and databases) with 2GB RAM would cost $100 each -20% discount for having 2 VPSes… that would make a total $160/month, almost $2000/year for only 2GB RAM VPS! OMG!!! In my opinion its extremely expensive!