Dedicated Servers with Unlimited Bandwidth

I have been using dedicated servers for several years, since leaving DreamHost’s shared environment.

I’m curious about the options you offer and had questions:

1. What sort of 4-core processor are you offering?

2. Can you upgrade to 6GB or 8GB RAM?

3. What about a RAID drive?

4. And cPanel or Plesk.

Please provide as much information as you can about this offering.

Peace,
Gene Steinberg
co-host/The Paracast
www.theparacast.com

We’re currently working on some additional documentation for our Dedicated Servers; here’s some basics though:

1. Primarily AMD Opterons, 2.2 GHz minimum. Exact hardware details may depend on which dedicated plan you choose and/or what hardware we have available.

2/3. Not at the present time, but dedicated hosting plans with “beefier” hardware will almost certainly become available in the future. I don’t know whether there are any plans to offer piecemeal upgrades, though.

1. cPanel will not currently install on our dedicated servers, as it doesn’t support Debian Linux. Plesk may work, but you’re completely on your own if you install it. Please note that all dedicated servers are managed by the DreamHost Panel, so you don’t need to install your own control panel unless you specifically need one.

I can probably survive the lack of cPanel, but I’m quite interested in RAID systems and maybe more RAM. It would seem sensible to offer at least one or two upgrade options of that sort. Otherwise, even your best configuration seems a bit lightweight for us, since we have lots of download traffic on our sites, and we want the fastest network and drive performance possible.

Peace,
Gene Steinberg
co-host/The Paracast
www.theparacast.com

Hi Gene,