Dedicated Server for Beginners: What is covered

Hi Guys,

I have been itching to finally move from VPS to your dedicated server system. But I am just not sure about the details. They seem very vague. You guys say it is a managed service but then you don’t manage MySQL? That means we still have to keep our shared hosting plan (which we don’t use for anything else) to keep MySQL running or run MYSQL ourselves (and maintain it).

I would like to know about what things change by moving from VPS to Dedicated server. As a business owner, I don’t really have the time to read technical books to manage my own server. That’s why I trust DreamHost to do it. At the same time, I don’t want to rely on VPS if there is a better product out there. VPS has had many issues for us in the past.

So here is my main question. When someone switches to VPS:

1. what things change … as far as things we business owners need to do.
  2. what things you guys manage and what things are on us
  3. what happens to early adopter VPS discounts and things like that
  4. what can and can’t we do with our dedicated server.

I am sorry if these questions are stupid. But I am a dummy when it comes to dedicated servers :slight_smile: [hr]
OK. So this is a classic dedicated server thing and not the one like VPS.net where they “manage” stuff. They also have one that you are on your own for advanced users. Hm… Sad. Not that we can’t set up things and run things on our own but our team is just stretched that we were hoping maybe the guys at Dreamhost were doing it. haha. :slight_smile:

Wishful thinking

DreamHost dedicated servers include MySQL (they’re basically a web VPS and a MySQL VPS fused into one), so you don’t need to keep a shared hosting plan active unless you need it for some other reason.

It’s fully managed by default, just like a normal VPS. You’re free to disable management, of course, and you’re on your own if you do, but everything’s managed and supported by default.