Customizing PHP

First off, I am a total rank newb at this. I am trying to set up PHP for my site so that I can use a custom php.ini. I gather that there are a couple ways to do this - either compile my own PHP or set up a custom configured php.ini. I’d prefer to do the latter, but I’m having no luck following the instructions at http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/PHP.ini

The main problem is I don’t know what I’m doing. I finally did manage to use PuTTY to shell to my account, but I can’t get the instructions to work. For example, when I enter “chmod +x php-update.sh”, the response is “Operation not permitted”, and I don’t have a clue how to fix this. So at this point, I’m basically stuck and/or clueless.

I would appreciate any suggestions for what I’m doing wrong, or for resources (books or on-line articles) to help me get less noobified on this.

Thanks.

OK, I don’t believe this, but I think I figured out what I was doing wrong. (Don’t ask - I’m a dummy - I think I was logged in to my account wrong.)

Any suggestions for resources to de-noobify myself would still be greatly appreciated. I am struggling mightily with this stuff.

Thanks.

You are already on the path, young grasshoppah.

I’m an electrical engineer that learned all this nonsense while stringing power into computer rooms c.1985-87 - one of the pseudo-quantum leaps one must accept is that oftentimes finding the way to do something is plodding through a quite-possibly exhaustive list of things that Just! Don’t! Work!

So have fun crashing/trashing your site - if you’re at all like me, it’s gonna happen quite a bit.

Just try not to take the whole server down with ya. :slight_smile:

I see this kind of thing here a lot: inexperienced[1] people trying to figure out SSH, tarballs, compiling, and so on, so they can have a customized PHP installation of their own. My question is, why? I suspect a lot of people are doing this when they really don’t need to.