Custom Theme Redirects to Active Theme In Live Preview

wordpress

Hi there,

I’m attempting to build my own WordPress theme from scratch. The only code I am using to build this theme are pieces taken out of the official WordPress codex as well as a tutorial linked to by the codex site.

The problem:
While the first page in live preview loads fine, everything I click on simply uses my current theme (Twenty Twelve) instead of the template files I’ve uploaded in the them. Since it’s for everything from single posts to pages, I’ve narrowed my troubleshooting focus on page.php and getting that to work as I figured that would be less complex than single.php.

Building the theme:
I’ve uploaded all of the necessary files as per the file structure of a WordPress theme (index.php, style.css, header.php, footer.php, sidebar.php, page.php, single.php, etc.). The code I’ve used is extremely basic that I could tell simply because I’m new to coding a WordPress theme (I know HTML and CSS quite well).

Diagnosing the problem (Live preview):
Initially, I thought it may be an issue with live preview. So, I tested another theme that came bundled in with WordPress in live preview and tested a page. The page loaded fine. So, I’ve ruled out the live preview feature.

Diagnosing the problem (page.php):
Naturally, I thought that page.php might be the problem. I had trouble finding out what was required in the page.php file itself other than to make sure to put the basics in (basic functions to get the sidebar, header, footer, the loop, etc.). So, I built a page.php with those elements in there. Problem persisted.

One solution in getting the file to work that I found was to copy and paste the code I built in index.php and insert that into page.php. Problem persisted.