Custom PHP + APC

software development

I am currently considering installing a custom PHP with APC. This is something I have no experience doing and I have a few questions. Forgive me if they’re silly. :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m looking at the PHP 5.3 + Xdebug + APC install script. Is this something I can run by itself and get all those things setup, or is there additional steps that need to be taken first?

I’m currently on a free trial for VPS, though I’m considering moving back to shared when it’s done since I have not seen any performance increase after the move. I have both mediawiki and an SMF forum installed, and I’ve been trying to improve their performance.

After installing a custom php, is it automatically set for all of my domains? Or is this something I would have to select under each domain settings? I ask mainly because I want to know if this will do bad things to my currently active websites if something goes wrong during installation.

Thanks!

Ok, so I actually managed to get the above answers already. I’m trying to actually install the script now, but I’m getting this error:

[code]2011-12-09 06:30:38 (464 KB/s) - `openssl-1.0.0e.tar.gz’ saved [4040229/4040229]

–2011-12-09 06:30:38-- http://ignum.dl.sourceforge.net/project/mcrypt/Libmcrypt/2.5.8/libmcrypt-
Resolving ignum.dl.sourceforge.net… 62.109.128.11, 2001:1ab0:7e1f:1:230:48ff:fed1:9c0a
Connecting to ignum.dl.sourceforge.net|62.109.128.11|:80… connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response… 302 Found
Location: http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/mcrypt/Libmcrypt/2.5.8/libmcrypt-?download&failedmirror=ignum.dl.sourceforge.net [following]
–2011-12-09 06:30:38-- http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/mcrypt/Libmcrypt/2.5.8/libmcrypt-?download&failedmirror=ignum.dl.sourceforge.net
Resolving downloads.sourceforge.net… 216.34.181.59
Connecting to downloads.sourceforge.net|216.34.181.59|:80… connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response… 404 Not Found