Curious if Dreamhost is IPv6 ready?

I checked my own domain on dreamhost…

Referral ns1.dreamhost.com

Asking ns1.dreamhost.com (66.33.206.206) for www.karlblessing.com (type AAAA)

Domain exists but there is no such record

Asking ns2.dreamhost.com (208.96.10.221) for www.karlblessing.com (type AAAA)

Asking ns3.dreamhost.com (66.33.216.216) for www.karlblessing.com (type AAAA)

(Type AAA means IPv6 as opposed to the IPv4 [x.x.x.x] we’re used to right now)

I just got to wondering since IPv6 will eventually be a neccessity and was wondering if dreamhost has already made plans to be ready for it, or if its a “we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it” situation.

-Karl Blessing

I can understand not being ready with the network side but not supporting IPv6 on the DNS is starting to cause me major headaches.

It would really be nice to hear some kind of timetable on this, maybe a blog post? :slight_smile:

willscorner.net

This is an area where I have little practical experience. Are web hosts actually starting to actively support IPv6? The last I had heard, this was all on the back burner where hardware and software vendors were becoming compatible and then we’d have to wait a decade or so for everything to be upgraded before anyone was going to take any real action…

Use the [color=#CC0000]3DOM50[/color] promo code for 3 extra lifetime domains and $50 off
More Dreamhost coupons here!

I dunno…chicken…egg…servers…network hardware. The servers seem to be the easier place to go IPv6, but without supporting hardware, it’s kind of useless.

I have found that my home and work networks of Macs all support the MyComputer.local convention. I thought that was a feature of IPv6, but I may be wrong.

-Scott

From a FAQ from the Internet Society:

[quote]Has IPv6 been added to the root servers yet?