Crontab limits

Hello, just a general question here.

I have written a script to handle all incoming emails and forward them to different people. I need to set up a cron task to run the script every x seconds so that emails get sent in a timely manner.

I was planning on setting the cron task for 15 seconds but want to make sure that this shortish time period would not cause a problem. For instance hostgator states a minimum of 15 minutes in their TOS but I could not find any limitations in dreamhost documentations.

Simply, is 15 second interval cron OK? If not, what should I use?

Thanks,
Shawn

Sorry, I’m new to cron, i knew that there were 5 time fields but I thought one was seconds. I am now seeing that there is no seconds field. I read that there are work arounds with sleep commands.

Running a command every 15 seconds on a shared web server is definitely not OK. Every 5 minutes is about the lowest you should consider going.

However, if all you need to do is forward e-mails, you may be able to do that without a script at all! Just use our Mail Filters system, which will let you set up rules to file, forward, and tag email based on its sender, headers, and/or content.

Thanks, it’s a little more complicated than just forwarding emails I’m afraid, it’s all very dynamic pulling address from a database of different lists.

Thanks for the input

How about announcement list? There must be a better way of doing this. Even DH allows it, it is still not a good idea of running a script every 15 seconds.

Is the issue just how often this runs? I can’t imagine someone running something here at DreamHost that’s so critical that someone has to be notified within a minute of something happening. Especially in the middle of the night.

I will not run it every 15 seconds.

here’s what we’re doing so you see why we can not use announcement lists or some other built in dreamhost alternative.