Cron execution

Hi, I’m fairly new to the cron job thing, and so I’m hoping that I’ve got a problem that someone will be able to fix fairly easily.

I installed Awstats, and have it all set up and running fine, but I can’t seem to get my cron job to run.

In the shell if I type crontab -l I get the following:

0 3 * * * perl /home//awstats/tools/awstats_buildstaticpages.pl -config= -update -awstatsprog=/home//awstats/cgi-bin/awstats.pl -dir=/home///statistics/

Which suggests to me that it is set up ok. BTW, if I just run the command it executes fine and updates my stats. If I’ve done it right, that should execute at 3am every morning, which is the default from the Wiki guide.

My question is, can anyone suggest why my cron job isn’t running? And do I need to register my cron job with the daemon or anything in order to get it running? I was under the impression that the server’s daemon automatically checked all users cron jobs once ever minute.

Most likely - Include the full path to perl, probably /usr/bin/perl

tor.eff.org

Thanks Tor, I think you’re right. I’ve made the changes and I’m going to Schedule it to run soon and see what happens.

Well, I changed the cron job and set it to run at 8:50 after checking the time on the server, and it didn’t execute again for some reason.

this is what I now have… again it runs if I just run the command:

50 08 * * * /usr/local/bin/perl /home//awstats/tools/awstats_buildstaticpages.pl -config= -update -awstatsprog=/home//awstats/cgi-bin/awstats.pl -dir=/home///statistics/

Anyone any ideas?

I had this very problem once, and it turned out I had a carriage return somewhere in the command, at a place where it wasn’t obvious just by looking at the screen. I can’t for the life of me imagine why it would’ve run when I copied and pasted it and ran it directly–I would think it would have been broken there, too-- but it did. I was scratching my head over that one for a while.

~Daisy