Creating Multisite, unable to log back in

Hello all.

First of all, I’m a total noob it terms of web-developing. I’m way over my head, I can tell you that much.

I’m trying to set up a Multisite, following this wiki:

I choose the sub-directories option since I’m in a shared hosting plan.

After step 6 I try to log in to no avail. It doesn’t even tell me the password is wrong, it just redirects me back to log in. ( in%2F&reauth=1)

If I restore the wp-config.php and .htaccess files I can log back in. If I drop a few tables (wp_blogs wp_blog_versions wp_registration_log wp_signups wp_site wp_sitemeta) in my mysql database I loose the “a network has been detected” warning if I try to start again.

Funny thing is, I got it to “work” once, with sub-domains (it didn’t actually work, but I was able to log back in). I’ve reinstalled wordpress quite a few times since then. I’ve even re-hosted the domain and change the ftp user since then.

I messed it up, that seems obvious. I can’t just figure out where.

Thanks in advance to anyone trying to help me.

I forgot to mention what I intend to do, just in case there’s a simpler solution.

I want to have a multi-language site. Basically going to should redirect you based on your browser’s language to one of the custom pages (i.e: Spanish and French and, or to the default English ( Those three pages would be essentially only different in their language. I want to include a comic -using Comic Easel plugin for example-, but I don’t think that’s going to be a hindrance multisite-ly.

Being able to access other pages ( or without being redirected would be great… not a must I suppose.

I suppose I could set the redirect in the main site, then setting up three different pages in the sub-directories, but I thought that in the long run the maintenance would be much simple with a multisite.

I hope I’m making some sort of sense.

Thanks again.

Well, this is embarrassing.

Deleted cookies, was able to login into the multisite.