Creating Back-Ups

I’ve never used Dreamhost before, and their control panel is VERY different from my other 2 hosts. I’ve searched through everything in the panel and cannot find a way to create a backup.

Could someone please tell me how to create a backup of my domain via the control panel? I’d really hate to lose everything due to an outtage or some random problem/hacker.

We do keep backups, but we don’t have any sort of way to automatically download a backup of your site.

From the command line you can create a tarball of your site and then download it to your local machine…

something like (untested):

tar cvzf backup.tar.gz /home/[yourusername]

There’s a much easier way of doing a backup than messing around with the command line. Using your favorite FTP client, drag the contents of your web folder into a local folder to backup your static files, and then do a MySQL dump using the MySQLAdmin panel to backup your database.

Simon Jessey
Keystone Websites | si-blog

will:

[/quote]

I’d like to be able to make backups of my sites this way but run it with a cron job. How would I go about setting that up? Creating the script? Is there something simple out there that someone at Dreamhost is using to do this?

Also remember that DH automatically creates a full backup of your websites every six hours. You can find the backup archive as a hidden directory in your user directory, where there are hourly.0, hourly.1, nightly.0, nightly.1, weekly.0, weekly.1 subdirectories. This is simply excellent if you/users/hackers mess up!

Read more:
https://panel.dreamhost.com/kbase/index.cgi?area=2585
There’s also this about database backups:
https://panel.dreamhost.com/kbase/index.cgi?area=2931&keyword=backup

TorbenGB
Try out DreamHost with a free WebIDPrices, options

Try this script (I use this every month to automatically GZ my sites and FTP them to my FTP Server @ Home

#!/usr/bin/perl
use CGI::Carp qw(fatalsToBrowser);

###############################################