Copy Site

Hi, I’m a newbie. How can I copy the entirety of my existing WordPress site including all pages to a new sub-domain so that I can install a new theme and fiddle around with it before I make the site go live? I have WP installed on the new site and coped all files from WebFTP…

Hope this helps

Thank you Patrick. I already have dreamhost hosting my website, www.narcad.org. I need to create a new SQL database, but it suggests having the database and the hostname be the same. I can’t have two identically named copies of the database, so there will likely be a problem with my wp-config file. Please advise…

Assuming the databases are on the same mySQL server (for most users this would normally be the case, you can tell for sure on the MySQL page in the panel), the HOSTNAMES are interchangeable.

It would not however be possible to have two databases on the same server with the exact same database name. Dreamhost offers the following tip “Try putting your domain name in front of your database name if the name you want is already taken.”

I successfully made a new fully hosted sub-domain test.narcad.org and copied over all ftp files as instructed in the wiki for how to move a Wordpress site. My main goal is to update the theme without affecting my current site. Is there a way to do this now? Do I need a new mySQL server for the test site? How would I update the wordpress admin to have a new password, etc?

You need a new mysql DATABASE yes. Simply create a new mysql datalbase go to the ‘live’ database via phpmyadmin and export all of the tables and then import them into the new database you created. Then edit the wp config file for your test domain and update the database name (you can choose to use the same user for the new database instead of creating a new user and also same hostmask as hostmasks are interchangeable anyway).