Control Panel Question

Now I want to preface this post by telling everyone that I am a Noob with a capital N. Now that the foundation has been laid let’s get to my issue:

I have been a Dream Host customer for going on 3 days now. I have previously used a hosting company that utilized the Cpanel control panel. It was very simple… I got online, looked at my files, changed/added/deleted/moved directories and files, etc. fairly easily.

Now that I have started using Dream Host’s control panel I have run into a couple newbie problems.

#1- Where can I view my files? One of my directories had a one-click install Wordpress blog in it and I want to delete it. My FTP (Filezilla) will only allow me to delete the actual php/jpg/etc files but not the directory folder(s) themselves.

I clicked on the “Files Forever” button hoping to find them there. But there were no files. Correct me if I am wrong but FF is an archiving option where you pay extra money to have DH archive your files. I thought I already paid for DH to host and back-up my files? I am a little confused by this option.

Is there another place (that I am missing) to be able to view all my files on the DH server and delete the directory files I need to delete?

You can delete the directory through Filezilla, but first make a setting change. Launch Filezilla > Edit > Settings > Interface Settings > Remote File list > check show hidden files. You should now be able to delete the directory.

Dreamhost also provides a web accessible FTP system to get your files. You can go directly there http://webftp.dreamhost.com. You should also be able to delete the directory from there.