Complete Noob question

Im having my website built for me…but in the meantime i would like a page to appear on the homepage to let people know its under construction.
Ive got the page designed, but where do i uplaoad it to? In my old site it was to a folder called, HTDOCS, but i dont seem to have that in my ftp area. Anyone able to point me in the right direction here?
thanks
Dan

Dan, just upload it to the folder that is named the same as your domain name (if your setup is the DreamHost default).

You can also confirm this folder name from the Control Panel -> Domains -> Manage Domains screen, by clicking “Edit” under the “Web Hosting” column for your domain and inspecting the value there for what directory your domain is served from. :wink:

–rlparker

thanks for that.
i looked where you said, but i ust be stupid or something, it still makes no sense.
It says on the page:
Specify your web directory: /home/username/pureportraits.net

Does that mean when i go into the FTP programme and log into the server…there needs to be a folder named: “home” and then another folder named: “username” (in my case, danpureportraits) and then the website files need to go in there?

thanks for your help riparker

Well not really; I’ll try to explain a little more clearly.

There actually is a directory (“folder”) named “home” and one named "“username”, but they are laid out like this:

/home /username (in your case - danpureportraits) /other_directories (pureportraits.net for example) So, the “username” directory is within (under) the /home directory, and “other_directories” (including the one that will hold your website content) are within (under/beneath) the “username” directory, in a “tree-like” fashion. This is described by the *nix path description of:

/home/username/other_directories