Complete NEWBIE questions about FTP

hi all! this is the first website i’ve ever built and i’m between a rock and a hard place right now! i’m lost as to how to get my files from my hard drive to viewable on my website address. i read somewhere that since i’m running windows xp, i already have an ftp client on my computer under “comand prompt” but i cannot for the life of me figure the darn thing out. i know, i’m a dork, but please help a gal out! :slight_smile:

sincerely,
aemi

where cheekiness is a way of life!

You can use Internet Explorer:

1. Click on Start button
  2. Click on My Network Places
  3. On the left, in the section that says “Network Tasks”, click “Add a network place”
  4. “Welcome to the Add Network Place Wizard” pops up. click Next button
  5. Make sure “Choose another network location” is selected and click Next button
  6. Type in “ftp://ftp.yourdomain.com” and click Next button
  7. Uncheck “Log in anonymously” and type in your username, then click Next button
  8. Choose a name for this place (ie “yourdomain.com FTP”) and click Next
  9. It gives you the option of logging in now then click Finish
  10. When logging in the first time, it will ask for the username and password. Fill in the password, make sure "Log in anonymously is unchecked and check “save password” if you want, then click Log On button
  11. You’re now using Internet Explorer as a graphic FTP client.
  12. If you right click on a file or directory, you can choose “Poperties” to change the permissions (called chmod). Unfortunately this panel doesn’t show you the octal representation.

However, the console-mode (‘text only mode’) version is pretty straightforward:

1. Type “ftp ftp.yourdomain.com” on the command line
  2. Enter username
  3. Enter password.
  4. commands:
    ls = show working directory contents (simple)
    ls -lag = show working directory contents including perms,size,timestamp, user and groups
    pwd = show working directory path