Complete Newb To Site-building/hosting

Hello,

I am a young college student and have not had the opportunity as of yet to take classes or get help from people who build sites nor have knowledge in anything for what I just got my self into. I can usually learn things fairly quick, however i do not even know where to begin with this. I just signed up for a dreamhost account due to getting a fairly decent membership deal. I am very interested intrying to create a website but dont know anything about where to start… I am not even slightly familar with FTP or how to start a webpage. So any tips on how to get started or what ftp or program to use would be greatly appreciated. I couldn’t really find any previous threads for a complete new guy like myself. I feel similar to some highschool student that doesn’t know how to read or write: Embarrassed

So any informations will be greatly appreciated! THankyou Kindly in advance!

I am a newby at building sites, and totally lost… Let the learning begin… :\

G’day and welcome, dgmason. :slight_smile:
A good place to start: the Getting Started guide in DreamHost’s Knowledge Base.
If you have specific problems, feel free to post them in these forums.
All the best,
marsbar

Welcome and congratulations on giving it a try.

There are a couple “introduction to making web sites” sites I can recommend. HTML Goodies and Wired Magazine’s Web Monkey (they no longer add to the site, but some of the tutorials are really good) were very useful to me when I was learning.

Most importantly, I advise you to have fun with it. If something doesn’t work like you want it to, don’t freak out… just delete it and try it again! Good luck!

Sorry, I forgot to come back here and check the forums i posted in, ahha!, Well thanks for the advice, looking at the listed websites right now… im sure you all will see more of me in here asking about this or that… THanks and anyone feel free to say or suggest something again to a complete newb as myself… thankyou!