Codeigniter site migration to PHP7

I’ve been running a low-volume hobbyist site on DH for about 15 years now.

My last major re-write of the CodeIgniter source was ten years ago.

Now that the shared servers are being mass-migrated to PHP 7+, I need to upgrade the framework and tweak one or two deprecated PHP uses.

I have the migrated code working on my local WAMP workstation under PHP 7.4.

It will not work correctly on the DH server, LAMP.

One of the things I do in the old site is remove the framework’s index.php file from the URLs.

Works fine under the old CodeIgniter 2.x/PHP 5.6 configuration, not so under CodeIgniter 3.1.11/PHP 7.4 using the same basic configuration as the old server and htaccess file.

I haven’t hit on the proper configuration to get the code running on my dev subdomain yet and web searches find basic information dating back ten years or more.

Anyone have any input?

Thanks.

You could post your .htaccess file here (redact anything private), and see if anyone here can spot a problem.

The standard setup for CodeIgniter is described at:

https://codeigniter.com/user_guide/general/urls.html?highlight=rewriterule

This is a copy of the .htaccess file that has been in service for the CodeIgniter 2.0.2 site:

AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/html text/plain text/xml text/javascript application/javascript text/css
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE application/javascript

RewriteEngine on

RewriteCond $1 !^(index.php|rss-feed.php|robots.txt|phpinfo.php|favicon.ico|apple-touch-icon.png|apple-touch-icon-47x47.png|apple-touch-icon-57x57.png|apple-touch-icon-72x72.png|apple-touch-icon-114x114.png|apple-touch-icon-129x129.png|index_header.php|index_navjavaphp.php|index_archivenavjavaphp.php|images|css|CSS|js|tmp|_Counters|Collections|awstats)
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /index.php?/$1 [L]

This has been in service for ten+ years with the CI 2.0.2 code (I never felt a need to upgrade CI until now).

The CI config references: