I no longer have need for my Dreamhost web hosting, so I’d like to close my account to save money.
However, I have some domains that I recently registered with Dreamhost and I’d rather not pay a domain transfer fee to move each of them to another registrar when it would basically waste the months they have until expiration.
Although I used the private whois setting, as I understand, I’m still the owner of the domains. So if I change their dns settings to another host and close my account, will they remain active and owned by me?
Or do I have to pay the transfer fee for all of them now?
Again, I no longer want any hosting service or server space, just the ability to access my account to manage my domain settings.