Clients want to update themselves

design

Hi all,
I have been designing web sites for 7 years now and just do basic HTML. Lately I have had alot of clients and potential clients require that they are able to update their sites themselves. These are clients with no experience and no editing software. In the past I would set up FTP access for them suggest software and give them a little training. Now clients want to log on to a site from anywhere and make changes without special software. I’m losing a lot of business to companies offering easy updateable template like sites that requires no coding or software. 3 clients in the last month. Does anyone have any suggestions and if so are they things that can be done on Dreamhost or do I need to pick up an additional service.

Thanks,

Linda

my best suggestion would be to use dreamhost’s one-click install of wordpress, though you may find it difficult to edit/customize templates if you’ve never done dynamic sites before.

Indefinetely under construction - Plaid Screen Studios - www.plaidscreen.com

In addition to WordPress, as plaidscreen already mentioned, DH also offers a “one-click” installation of a more powerful (and probably for most more complicated) CMS - Joomla!.

–rlparker

There’s undoubtably far more demand nowadays for content managed systems, and dynamic content in general. If you’re losing clients to competitors offering these services then surely you ought to consider either teaming up with a developer that can implement these kind of systems, or start looking at learning some kind of scripting language. It’s not nearly as hard as you’d imagine if you take small steps, particularly with the wealth of knowledge available on the web.