Changing ownership of files to a group

I did not see a similar question when I searched so here goes.

I am new to Dreamhost, an have for the most part have been happy with the service. I have run into a bit of a problem that I am trying to resolve. I am developing a website for a church (I am a member with web experience not a paid developer.) There are a group of us that are going to be responsible for maintaining the site. I (being a paranoid network administrator by day) do not like shared passwords (and do like audit control of files) so I had the brilliant idea of changing ownership of all of the flles within the site to a group eg. Web_Admin. I could then assign FTP or shell users to this group to allow them access to all of the files within the site.

Will this work?

Will this screw something else up?

Any particular instruction on doing this in this environment so as not to blow up the site, or will standard Debian Linux commands work?

Won’t work very well; I wouldn’t recommend it. Here’s why:

[] Every file/directory in a UNIX system has exactly one owning user and group associated with it. You can’t assign ownership directly to a group; there’s always one user set as the owner.
] Only the user owning a file/directory (the user that created it) can ever perform certain operations, such as changing its permissions or group. You cannot “give away” ownership of a file to another user at all.
[*] There is no way to enforce what permissions other users apply to files/directories they create. The default permissions on files typically end up only allowing the owning user to modify them.