Changing a Domain Later / 2 Domains on 1 Plan

Hi, I’m very new to domain name hosting and registration, so I have a quick question before I sign up for a plan here:

If I sign up for a plan and register a new domain with Dreamhost right now, if I later change my mind about my site’s domain name can I register another domain and “attach” it to my current plan? I’m hoping I wouldn’t have to pay for an entirely separate second plan…

Also, if I initially register a name that is say www.domain1.com, and I later register www.domain2.com, could I set it up so when a visitor goes to domain2.com it takes them to the same server space as domain1.com, while still showing domain2.com in the address bar? OR could I set up different root directories on my Dreamhost space for the two different domains with each having a separate index file in their directory? I realize that it is possible to simply forward one domain to another domain’s space, but I was wondering if it was possible to link two domains to one server space while still retaining their respective addresses in the visitor’s browser’s address bar.

Sorry for the rambling post, I hope I got my question across clear… Thanks for any help clearing this up, Dreamhost looks very promising!!!

Yes you can. On the standard dreamhost plans, you only get one free lifetime domain registration so you’d have to pay for the second domain registration (or sign up using a promo code that gives you extra free domain registrations).

Yes, you could do this with either mod_rewrite or using the DreamHost transparent proxy mechanism.

I’m not quite sure what you’re after in this situation. Why do you need two different index files but the same site content? This seems to be contradictory.

Hey, you’ll find everyone here more happy to answer your questions. We may have to ask for some clarification at times, though!