Change max upload size problem

Just now, i followed the tutorial of the change max upload size from
but i have one problem, while i use custom ftp command, chmod +x php_update,
the ftp client software come out "The command is not understood by the server.
i need to change the max upload size to i liked.

I think you will have more success logging into the shell via ssh to to manipulate these files than using your ftp client.

I just see SSH2, dont have SSH

may i know how to login into shell via ssh?
i’m new to linux

I was just referring to ssh in general terms - DH is compatible with ssh2 and you should be able to log into the shell with ssh2 as well :wink: .

i use the SSH2, but it’s list out this problem:
Can’t connect to SFTP21 error = #7.

#7 should give you additional information on using ssh/ssh2 on Dreamhost. Make sure that your user has shell access enabled, as indicated in the wiki article. :slight_smile:

I’m sorry, I am not familiar with that error code. It may indicate that the protocol is not supported. Is the user you are logging in as a “shell” user? You can check by visiting the Control Panel–>Users screen and checking to make sure you user has the “shell” checkbox selected.

What platform/OS are you using to connect (MAC OSX, MAC OS9, Windows XP, linux, etc)? I have had excellent result using the free “puTTY” client.

i followed these steps you gave me the url address. but i can’t see the .ssh folder to cause i can’t upload the authorise keys into it, make any change for it. i using windows xp platform OS

If those steps are causing you trouble, you do not need to use passwordless login.

Using the puTTY program I suggested, just run the program and connect to yourdomain.tld. It will prompt you for a user and password. Enter that interactively from the keyboard, and you should be able to connect. You can learn more about setting up passwordless login at a later time, when you have become more familiar with the *nix shell. :wink: