Change Domain of Wordpress from subdirectory of old domain to new domain within Dreamhost

Hi there,

I am quite new to this topic and a bit confused. In short, I want to change the domain of a one-click-installed WordPress instance that is now just pointing to some subdomain of my default dreamhosters domain.

What I did so far:

• Setup a new Wordpress for testing with the One Click Installer in Dreamhost under a subdirectory (obviously there can be subdomain and subdirectory; so I set it up to www:myuser.dreamhosters.com/mywordpress)
  • Played around with Wordpress and now actually want to use what I created so far, however, I want to give it a useful domain
  • Signed up for a domain at namecheap.com and set up the Dreamhost DNS, e.g. www:thatsmyrealone.com
  • Created a new Domain in DH panel so that the Dreamhost DNS know about www:thatsmyrealone.com
  • Did another One Click Installer of Wordpress to create a new empty Wordpress (user, files, database) at www:thatsmyrealone.com

What I want

• Change the domain name, however, I am not sure which options I have
  • I want to avoid a redirect if I enter www:thatsmyrealone.com to the old www.myuser.dreamhosters.com/mywordpress as this is visible in the address bar of the browser
  • I want to avoid (but I believe I can’t to manually migrate Wordpress, files, database, user credentials, etc.

Do you know which options I have? I know there is a lot of documentation out there, but I must know what I am looking for.

1. Some magical change in the settings?
  2. Some automized migration tool?
  3. Start from the beginning (as I did) and backup/restore the entire instance manually?
  4. …?

Thanks for your help. This could really save me days of research and work.

PS: Sorry for the confusing links, as a new user I am not allowed to post several URLs here in the forum.

You could always cloak or mirror the domain, but WordPress has its own way of handling links and neither of those methods may work.