Cgi/perl stuff

Howdy,

I am playing around with cgi scripts on my site, but I can’t get any of them to execute.
I could write a script that simply prints ‘hello’, point a form toward it, and it should execute it, right?
All my scripts do is display their text contents in the web browser.

Thanks,
elam

Hi

Do you give your scripts the correct extensions, [color=#CC0000].pl[/color] or [color=#CC0000].cgi[/color]? Do you print the correct header to the browser? If you want me to take a look, feel free to post a URL and I’ll see if I can help.

Wil

Here’s the url for my experimentation,
http://www.mentalstim.com/PerlTesting/form1.html
I’m very new to this, but my understanding of cgi is that it communicates between your browser and the program your running.
So the perl program could simply print “hello”, the cgi protocal would send that result back to the browser, which would print ‘hello’.
Is this the right way of thinking?

Thanks for the help,
elam

Hi Elam

When trying the URi you gave me, I get a form come up. When trying to submit any information into the form, I get a 500 server error.

Can you look in your log files, in directory /logs/yourdomain.ext/ and tail the error_log for the last few lines to see what causes this program to churn up this error.

Most probably it will tell you that you have bad headers. If that is the case, can you provide me with a link to the source of the program (CGI program) so that I can look and analyze your code for you?

=> Did you upload your program in ASCII file transfer mode and is the permissions on the file OK? Try chmod your program to 755. <=

You are right in thinking that the browser communicates with the server via CGI. You might want to take a look at some learning resources on the web, to learn more about CGI and Perl. Try the following URi as a starter:

http://www.cgi101.com/class/

Wil

Howdy Wil,

I did get some of my other scripts working. Turns out I didn’t have my CGI fully enabled in my Dreamhost account.