Catch-all EOL mitigation

I’ve given out dozens of catch-all email addresses over the last decade and I’m going to be inconvenienced by the upcoming EOL of this feature. I can stop giving new addresses out, but it’s not like I kept careful records of the old ones. I’d love it if Dreamhost could record which of these addresses are used between now and the EOL date and make it easy to set up regular forwarding for them.[EOL announcement: https://help.dreamhost.com/hc/en-us/articles/360004885332-Email-Catch-All-End-of-Life]

Yea, Same issue here, Every time a company , store or site ask for an E-Mail I tend to just use (CompanyName)@mydomain.com

Great way to track who’s letting your e-mail out into the wild.

What I’m going to have to do is using outlook sort all the e-mails by “TO” and that will give me at least a psudo list of what E-Mail addresses I’ll have to generate (going to be a pain after a few years of giving it out)

I’ve been doing this for 20 years, the last 12 of them on Dreamhost. I’m not going to stop. I will be leaving. Or figuring out how to host my email elsewhere. Ugh.

One other “solution” (and might be useful for some) Depending on how easy it is to constantly modify

Is the Bulk Forwarding Settings.

Split my Catch-All into Groups
Blogs
Stores
Bills
And then just (SomeNewStore@domain) -> Stores@domain
Might help with management a bit on my end also.

Like the others, I’ve doled out dozens of throw-away email addresses to services that require an address but to whom I don’t want to give my personal email. I have zero record of them, and I’m not even sure if any of them have been used before.

I’m now facing the prospect of splitting my email hosting from my site hosting and all of the DNS wackiness that comes from this policy change.

According to The Rationale given, there are three reasons DH is killing catch-alls: