Can't host my own domain name ><

Hi Guys,

First post here, not really big on forums/posting but there’s always a starting point hey, anyway, this somewhat grinds my gears!

I bought a domain name, but someone else on dreamhost was apparently hosting it (perhaps previous owner?).

Anyway, I can’t host it because it won’t allow 2 of the same domains on the dreamhost servers, whilst this makes sense, Dreamhost support says I need to contact the owner and get them to backup and delete the managed domain name.

Is it a bit strange or am I just over-sensitive about this? Buy a domain but can’t host!?!? I pay for the domain, pay for hosting and can’t do anything with either? I even provided the tax invoice for proof of purchase of the domain :frowning:

Anyone have this before? Help?

I’m fairly new to providing “support” via this discussion forum; however dreamhost has that “safeguard” in place to prevent people from attempting to move a domain from 1 account to another.

To me it makes perfect sense. If I were to create a coupon/discount in Hosting Account 1, then attempted to move all of my domains into a new hosting account using the coupon, that would be cheating the system, of sorts.

If dreamhost has said you should contact the previous owner, then you should avoid wasting time here, and contact the previous owner.

You obviously were in contact during the domain transfer, so it doesn’t seem too far fetched that you could contact them again.

Good luck.

You shouldn’t even have to contact the “previous owner.” Sometimes someone sets up hosting for a domain they don’t own, and it blocks the legitimate owner from setting up shop.

Provide proof to Support that you own the domain and have them remove the other one from the system. And it sounds like you’ve already done this. Bug them again. It’s not your responsibility to clean up someone else’s mess. When this has happened in the past, I’ve never heard of Support giving someone the runaround.

-Scott