Can't connect to server using Filezilla

Hi. I am trying to move my local-host wordpress site to the server by using FileZilla. This is my first time doing this, so I carefully followed the instruction with my username and password that I got from the DH user activation email. However, I still can’t connect to the server.

I keep getting the same three erro messages in a roll saying that : Authentication failed. Critical error, and could not connect to server.

I am so frustrated, cause I have been trying for two days. Can someone please help me? I will be really appreciated! Thanks!

Did you follow the setup instructions on the dreamhost wiki for filezilla setup? http://wiki.dreamhost.com/FileZilla_Setup

Also not that if you are trying to connect via ftp (insecure) you must make sure you have not checked the “disallow ftp” box for your user. Go to “manage users” in the panel and “edit” to check how you have the user setup.

I am trying to connect via SFTP, so should I check the “disallow ftp” box then?? Also, I am not sure is what I put is right in the host box in FileZilla, do I just put my domain name or do I put my FTP server? Cause in the activation email, it says: use the FTP server only for your site’s initial setup. Once your domain is working on the web you should begin connecting directly to “yourdomain.com”. But then I tried both, and both don’t work. Any ideas? Thank you very much for your reply.

[hr]

Oh, and yes, I followed the dreamhost wiki for filezilla setup. That link is exactly what I used.

Yes you should be able to put just your domain name. The “disallow FTP” box CAN be checked for SFTP. I don’t use FileZilla myslef but if there is a place for port number in the setup, make sure it’s 22 for SFTP.

I just changed my password, and then it works~~lol
This is so wired, I had this account for like half year and never touch it until now. But anyways, thanks for your time!