Cannot install Moodle 2.0

apps

I’ve tried this on three different domains hosted with Dreamhost. I must be doing something wrong, so someone point out to me what it is.

I’ve followed the instructions on Moodle’s page for installing via CVS. I set the domain to PHP 5.3 Fast CGI, make a MySQL database, then download the moodle files via CVS.

When everything is ready, I navigate to the page and go through the options, enter database name, hostname, etc.

All seems good to go, but when I hit “Install” it waits a few minutes, then gives me a 500 INTERNAL SERVER ERROR. if I go back to the moodle page, all I get is “A TOP LEVEL COURSE COULD NOT BE FOUND”.

That’s it. Same thing happens on every domain. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks.

I ran into similar problems installing Moodle2.0 at Dreamhost. I was able to get some success by installing via the command line: http://docs.moodle.org/en/Administration_via_command_line

I am new to this, so please take my advice with a grain of salt. I could not figure out how to do cvs, so I downloaded the 2.0.2+ standard .tgz package to my iMac, double clicked to unpack it, and used ftp to copy the contents of the moodle folder to the root level of my domain.

I created a MySQL database with a user name and password first, then called http://www.mydomain.com (if you copy the whole moodle folder you will need to add/moodle/ or change the settings for your domain) to see what I would get. I got a page to start the process and followed the instructions. It was relatively painless and worked fine.

I have a standard hosting plan and it runs pretty slow compared to running it in MAMP locally. I assume it needs to be run on a dedicated machine when it gets busy, but have seen no advice on how many users it can handle before needing it. MAMP is very cool by the way- one click to run it and it is completely self contained.

I suggest at least trying the direct download method like I did.